Skip to content

RIP The Minimalist

February 5, 2011

So this is perhaps a little belated, but Wednesday was a mournful day for all of us. Everything seemed normal enough– I happily sat down with my cold brew coffee, a grapefruit, almonds, and the New York Times Dining Section– the reason Wednesday is my favorite day of the week.

A typical Wednesday a few months ago:

So you can imagine the sorrow that mounted in my soul as I read the headline, “The Minimalist Makes His Exit.” Yes, I know he’s not gone forever, but what is the Dining Section going to be without the Minimalist? I want eclectic, eco-friendly, easy to make recipes, and I want them weekly. Restaurant reviews and The Pour are all fine and dandy, but some of us are college students and don’t live in New York.

Not sure if I ever mentioned it, but my life goal is pretty much to be Mark Bittman. He’s an environmentally-conscious omnivore, self-taught, and has probably saved all our lives with his How to Cook Everything and How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. Not to mention, his writing is enormously entertaining.

Mark, you rock. You make my Wednesday mornings. Please don’t leave.

In his last definite Minimalist column, Mark names 25 of his favorite recipes. I’m not going to list them all here (but I am intrigued by his usage of ketchup in stir-fry– if anyone can make me like faux-Chinese food, it’s him). Instead, I’d like to give you guys a list of some simple recipes of mine that I’d like to think the Minimalist would approve of.

These are recipes that are neither 100% authentic nor “fusion” cooking. Enjoy. I think I speak for all of us when I say that the Minimalist will be sorely missed.

Octopus Gourmet’s “Minimalist-esque” recipes:

Eggplant Pomegranate Dip

Acorn Squash Pineapple Puree

Bok Choy with Soft Tofu and Glass Noodles

Grilled Mackerel in Sesame Soy Marinade

Butternut Squash Kibbeh with Spinach Chickpea filling

Stuffed Cabbage in Cinnamon Apricot Sauce

3 Comments leave one →
  1. fiz permalink
    February 5, 2011 4:03 pm

    This is one of your VERY BEST blog entries. Really wonderful.
    NOW WILL YOU ANSWER MY TEXT MESSAGES ABOUT THE GIFT I SENT YOU?

  2. February 5, 2011 4:11 pm

    Damn. I loved his recipes. They were always so elegant and refined.

Trackbacks

  1. Tasting Coffee with a Wine Drinker’s Palette: Intelligentsia Cruz Del Sur «

Leave a Reply

