Skip to content

Tofu with Thousand Year Old Egg, Part Deux

February 1, 2011

There have certainly been a lot of “Part Deux” lately, haven’t there?

If you haven’t been following, check out the Part Deux of Star Anise Eggplant and Stir-fried Eggs and Tomato with Garlic Spinach.)

There are perfectly rational explanations behind this. First, to be honest, if I had any intelligence at all, I would be doing reading right now instead of blogging, let alone cooking. These meals are straight-up easy to make, partially because I could make them in my sleep. Gone are the days of experimental, extravagant Korean and Middle Eastern meals.

Second, this is comfort food. We all enjoy testing our tastebuds’ limits and avoiding food ruts, but ultimately, we return to the simple foods that take us back to childhood and/or good memories. This isn’t Freudian; it’s fact.

So allow me to present my attempt to make Tofu with Thousand Year Old Egg look somewhat presentable. Seriuously, could there be a more unappealing sounding dish?

But it certainly doesn’t taste that way. Creamy, mild tofu topped with pungent, glassy century egg, sprinkled with scallions and drizzled with a healthy dose of sesame oil and soy sauce.

On the side: a super lame stir-fry of that tasteless yellow squash that looks like zucchini but no one knows the name of (is it just “yellow squash?”

I’m not gonna lie though– even I had trouble stomaching one century egg by myself. So if you’re a noob, I suggest starting with one bite.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Leonid permalink
    February 2, 2011 11:31 pm

    Looks great! I’m surprised you ate a thousand-year old egg in one meal… Two questions: do you cook every night? And where did you get the tofu and dried scallions (I’m assuming that’s what you meant)?

    Feels good to be among those who appreciate–and enjoy–food like this.

  2. Leonid permalink
    February 2, 2011 11:40 pm

    A quick revision: I did not mean dried scallions, I meant dried scallops.

    • February 2, 2011 11:59 pm

      scallops? i don’t have any dried scallops. let me double-check what i wrote.
      how many of the eggs can you eat?
      and last semester i cooked most nights, but sadly, my workload is heavier now so it’s just not as likely 😦

  3. Anh permalink
    February 5, 2011 5:40 am

    Cool! I love thousand-year old eggs. It takes me forever to eat one though, I savor it like…. hmm fermented tofu curd?

    It’s nice to cook every day – I do, even when I’m most busy. Too bad the kitchen in the dorms sucks. 😦

    I’m going to A Dong tomorrow though, so more groceries – yay!

Leave a Reply

