Skip to content

Stir-Fried Eggs and Tomato and Garlic Spinach, Part Deux

January 26, 2011

I wish this meal could have looked like this.

*NOTE: I’ve discovered the key to making eggs and tomatoes on an induction burner: take the eggs OUT of the pan, simmer down the tomatoes separately, then add the eggs back in right before serving. This way, the eggs retain their creaminess and don’t dry out.

I wish I could have used Chinese spinach with its thick stems and rosy crowns, not two huge bags of baby spinach from Stop and Shop and some more pillaged from the salad bar.

I wish I had more than individual soy sauce and Sugar in the Raw packets.

I wish the lighting in my room was nicer so my blog could look like the images on Tastespotting.

I wish there were more than two chairs in my room.

But then this wouldn’t be Octopus Gourmet: Project Dorm Cooking. Every time I turn on the fan and open the window so I don’t set off the smoke alarm, I think of myself as braving the unknown, going to such an effort to cook that it borders on absurd. Take that, Robert Irvine. My dinners are so much more impossible than yours.

And when it comes down to it, presentation only makes up part of a meal. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: food is nourishment, and you know you’ve eaten something good when you feel more than just physically satiated.

When I spooned myself some rice and topped it with soupy eggs and tomatoes, a garlicky glob of sweet spinach, and a dollop of hot sauce, even before I took the first bite all seemed right in the world.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. George Zeitlin permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:10 pm

    Lida– For someone who doesn’t fo;llow up and try your recipes, this was certainly one of your best and most interesting short blogs — worthy of wider publication. G

  2. January 26, 2011 6:09 pm

    Really? Thank you so much!!!

  3. January 26, 2011 9:12 pm

    Lida, I just want to say how great your blog is beyond the food and recipes, which are always delectable. It’s your writing that really makes it so enjoyable, and a great respite in my busy day.

  4. Alex permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:05 pm

    Damn, looks good. C and O look pretty happy about it too. This really puts my whining about the WestCo kitchen in perspective.

  5. Ping permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:57 pm

    I too sometimes get the dreaded watery-tomatoes-in-wok result. I also noticed my results often improve if I first remove the seeds before cooking. Another is to cook fewer tomatoes at once. I know I know, usually more food is better than less…but.

    Can’t say if any of these technique would work for dorm room cooking tho.

    • January 27, 2011 11:57 pm

      Yeah, hard to tell with the induction burner. I’d be interested to hear your recipes/ any other recipes you think I could attempt in my room. Do you use sugar or scallions, ginger, etc? do you add any water to the eggs when you beat them? I think so much depends on the quality of tomatoes and eggs.

Trackbacks

  1. Tofu with Thousand Year Old Egg, Part Deux «

Leave a Reply

