Skip to content

To Be Continued…

January 18, 2011

So, here I am en route back to campus with a mobile pantry in tow.

In regards to blogging: my goal for the new semester is to treat this blog like a job– a pleasurable one, no doubt, but it would be nice to have some readers. Ideally, I’ll be blogging every day, if not every other day.

Feedback is always appreciated. Does anyone out there who I don’t know personally even read this? And if in fact you do, what draws you back to this blog? Is it the food? Coffee? Design and photos (Ha, I wish…)? Writing? Whatever you like about it, as well as what you don’t like… I’d love to hear about it.

I have a few more Chicago kitchen tales, but after that, expect to see a lot of cafe reviews. I feel like poor coffee has been a little neglected, and unfortunately, I have to go back to my induction burner and rice cooker now.

What great adventures lie ahead? Only His Holiness (aka Mark Bittman) knows…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. FIZ permalink
    January 18, 2011 5:17 pm

    safe return. tried to see online how to promote your food blog. you should try and see for yourself.

  2. January 18, 2011 10:53 pm

    What I appreciate most might be the fact that you whip up these huge FEASTS, seemingly on a daily basis (omg) – but that might also be because I’m the weakest cook ever. (Okay, honestly, what I really appreciate is how vegetarian-friendly your recipes are. I’m like, man! Chinese food that is vegetarian and looks and sounds good, what a fine rare thing that is).

    I could shout-out your blog on mine? I honestly have no idea why, but my site stats inform me that more people (friends, probably) are reading my blog than I imagined, and I bet they would love your recipes. 🙂

    • January 19, 2011 5:58 am

      aditi, that would be amazing! thanks for everything you like about the blog 🙂
      to be honest, i’m a little “feasted” out right now, almost relieved for Usdan, but not for long…
      i didn’t know you had a blog! i’ll check it out right now. hope you’re having an amazing time in london

  3. Kate Cooper permalink
    January 19, 2011 8:30 pm

    A friend posted a link to your blog on Facebook and having been to Wesleyan years ago I thought it would be fun to see what the current generation are up to! I very much enjoyed both the quirky recipes and also the lovely photos/design. Keep up the good work!

    • January 19, 2011 10:15 pm

      Thank you so much! Has the current Wes generation changed much?
      How surprising that the design is alright– I feel like that’s the weakest part, since I have no digital knowledge whatsoever.

  4. March 2, 2011 10:54 pm

    Hi Lida,
    Hope your semester is going well.
    Since you are such a pro on your little induction burner, I thought I’d ask you what brand it is and if you like it. We are researching our next cooktop and most of our chef/friends say induction is the way to go. Do you have the real thing at home? Do you use induction when you have the opportunity to use gas?
    While traveling in Belgium 2 years ago, we ate the best seafood of our lives at this little place where we sat at the bar and chatted with the chef while he cooked. He said he has 4 gas burners and 2 induction and says he NEVER uses the gas. Another friend who owns 6+ very high end restaurants in Boston also highly recommends induction for a cooktop.
    We thought we’d try out a single portable burner before buying one…so i thought I’d ask what you have and your thoughts.
    I hope you’re gearing up for a fun Spring Break. Carina (+Liza & Marissa) and I are going to Mexico one week from today! Can’t wait! Actually, today Carina sent me about a dozen recipes that she wants to try making while she’s home, so who knows? Maybe she’ll come back with some fun stuff for you guys to try. Hope to met you sometime soon.
    All the best,
    Gina (Carina’s mom)

Leave a Reply

