Skip to content

Acorn Squash Pineapple Puree

January 16, 2011

There are two types of eaters in the world: A. those who enjoy eating mushy food and B. those who don’t.

I definitely fall into the former category. Call me weird, but oatmeal, mashed sweet potatoes, polenta, very sticky rice, avocado, and hummus all rank top on my list. And if you don’t like eating something that could double as baby food, you should stop here. On the other hand, if you’re open to the idea of serving something chewier, like grilled meat, tofu or vegetables, atop this puree, then by all means, continue on.

This side, appetizer, whatever it is, was inspired by (DON’T LAUGH AT ME) my school’s dining hall. The kosher section, which serves miserably stingy portions on paper plates, tends to be very hit-or-miss (BY ALL MEANS STAY AWAY FROM THE VEGAN BURRITOS). When I saw a sign for “mashed acorn squash,” I requested a large bowl full of the stuff. I carried it back to my table, wishing it was in a real bowl, not a plastic one, took a bite… and promptly did a double-take.

First of all, I’ve never had mashed acorn squash– I always though it would be too dry, opting instead to roast it with a little butter. What I tasted was really more of a puree, but it didn’t taste like squash– it tasted fruitier and more tart, almost tropical. I took another taste– pineapple juice? I thought.

To this day, I still don’t know if there was pineapple in the squash or not. Either way, the combination struck me as interesting. I decided that roasting both the squash and the pineapple would bring out their natural sugars. I took the “tropical” theme a little bit further, adding in some fresh tangerine juice and peeled ginger, topping it with a little toasted coconut.

Having strange eating habits, I ate this for breakfast (and yes, I ate the entire thing), but I think it would be divine served with some seared scallops or sauteed shrimp. Even duck breast might work here. If you decide to go the savory route, you can omit the vanilla or just use less, but sweet and savory go so well together…

Acorn Squash Pineapple Puree


Ingredients:

  • 1 medium acorn squash (or any winter squash like butternut, kabocha or delicata), seeded and cut into cubes
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh pineapple
  • 1 tsp butter
  • Juice of one tangerine
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • optional: black pepper
  • a one-inch chunk of peeled fresh ginger
  • Toasted coconut, for garnish

Instructions:

  • For super fast cooking time, steam squash before roasting.
  • If not, just roast squash, pineapple, salt and butter in a preheated 450 degree oven for about 20 minutes, or until squash is tender.
  • Broil for 5 minutes, or until squash and pineapple are slightly charcoaled.
  • Let cool, then peel squash.
  • Put squash, pineapple and remaining ingredients in a blender and puree.
  • Serve sprinkled with toasted coconut on top.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Simone Baggetto permalink
    January 18, 2011 5:41 pm

    GENIUS

  2. Melissa permalink
    February 2, 2011 4:24 pm

    Delicious! Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. RIP Mark Bittman «

Leave a Reply

