Skip to content

Nut and Seed Olive Oil Biscotti

December 25, 2010

Rarely do I venture out of my stir-fry cocoon to brave the fortress of the oven. To be honest, baking scares me. It’s ultra-scientific and every time I tell myself I’m going to follow a recipe, I end up making some “wholesome” substitution– whole wheat flour, decreasing the butter too much, etc.

Plus, I don’t eat a lot of baked goods anyway– hence the desire for healthy substitutions.

But these biscotti, inspired from this recipe, are every bit as wholesome as the title suggests. They aren’t vegan or even 100% whole grain– Just slightly salty, nutty, crunchy goodness, studded with nuts, seeds, and chunks of candied ginger.

They’re good on their own, but even better dunked into the inky depths of a mug of Intelligentsia Papua New Guinea made on the Clever Dripper.

I imagine they’d be a good dessert pairing for sweet wine, too. Mulled wine, with cinnamon and cloves and orange zest… Oh, but that’s another post for another time.

The biscotti turned out so successful that I have a newfound hope for baking. I’m imagining a savory variation with no sugar and some smoked sea salt…

Nut and Seed Olive Oil Biscotti (adapted from 101 Cookbooks)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 cups nuts (I used walnuts and almonds)
  • 1 cup seeds (I used pumpkin and poppy)
  • 1/4 cup candied ginger, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Instructions: I’m not going to plagiarize and copy the recipe exactly. The only change I made was baking the biscotti a bit longer so they would crisp up more.

Serve– I repeat, serve– with black coffee.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. fiz permalink
    December 25, 2010 4:46 am

    actually, baking is a lot easier than a lot of other cooking. If you have a good recipe, a good oven that keeps accurate heat, and good baking pans, you can tackle many different kinds of desserts. And the other stuff: ganache, whipped cream, fillings, etc. is not too difficult either. I’ve never tried other yummies like creme caramel or (sigh) crême brulé, but it’s not exactly rocket science either. Ariel Leifer was a dessert chef, I think, and would have lots of tips. and p.s. making a cheese cake is easy as (pardon the expression) pie.

    • numnumnum permalink
      December 25, 2010 10:36 pm

      sounds great! i love biscotti and plan on making some soon. i love sweet-savory things…

Leave a Reply

