Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving

November 27, 2010

Better late than never, right?

Surprisingly, we keep Thanksgiving in the Octopus household pretty American, so I’ll spare you the recipes—you’ve seen them all before.

The most unusual things you’ll find are the turkey centerpiece, an ingenious pie crust-molding method, and a giant dish of garlic green beans.

On the menu:


Hummus and crudités, chevre and fruit plates

Roast turkey and gravy (Mark Bittman)

Roast sweet potatoes and butternut squash with maple syrup and cider

Roasted brussels sprouts with balsamic and fennel seeds (The Flexitarian Kitchen)

Mushroom stuffing (one with homemade cornbread, one with brioche)

Stir-fried green beans with garlic

Cranberry orange ginger sauce

Frisee salad with roasted beets

The best apple pie in the world (Cook’s Illustrated)

How can I even name all the things I’m thankful for? My family and friends, my mental and physical health, Wesleyan, books, my house. I’m most thankful for possessing all five senses: seeing the world around me, hearing such a wide variety of sounds and language, feeling so many different textures, the richness of smells, and finally, taste. I am so thankful for the ability to savor, remember, and experience the food I have eaten and coffee I have drunk, and I can only be more thankful for the flavors that have yet to come.

Happy Thanksgiving.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robert Gordon Vavra permalink
    November 27, 2010 11:30 pm

    Haha, great turkey centerpiece.

    Looks like a fantastic meal!

  2. Ariel Zeitlin Cooke permalink
    November 29, 2010 12:04 am

    Yum! We also had a delectable feast in Princeton. Grandma bought the traditional Gateau St. Honore for Sam’s birthday. It was pretty good if not, as Josh kept crowing, “the prince of cakes.” We missed you. After Txgiving I had a weekend party in the city as a belated celebration of my 50th b’day and Josh and Sam came. xxx Aunt Ari

Leave a Reply

