Skip to content

Teddie Peanut Butter: you wish you lived on the East Coast

October 21, 2010

I’m not a huge food snob.

Okay, that’s a lie, I am. However, there are two main food groups (at least, I consider them food groups) where I refuse to settle for anything less than perfection. Those food groups would be:

A. Coffee (stay tuned for my Manhattan Coffee Pilgrimage post) and



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

B. Peanut Butter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When it comes to that glorious American invention that tastes so good with sliced banana, I tend to gravitate towards Trader Joe’s brand, preferably salted and extra crunchy. No sugar added is a plus too. Basically, I want it to taste like peanuts (I won’t lie though; there’s been many occasion where I’ve made trans fat-laden, air-whipped PB and banana sandwiches on the panini press in the dining hall).

So when a peanut butter isn’t crunchy, it has to be really good in order for me to buy it again. After years of following food blogs, I’ve gained some awareness of regional peanut butter brands. For instance, I always spy Teddie Peanut Butter on Carrots ‘n Cake, a Massachusetts-based blog, and what can I say? The logo’s cute– I wanted to try it.

Neon Deli, a convenience store/ sandwich shop on the edge of campus, stocks Teddie PB (alongside Skippy, of course). On the way back from a run, I stopped in, only to discover that they were OUT. The super-friendly chap (for some reason he strikes me as a “chap,” not a “dude”) who owns the store launched into a monologue about how they did have it, but he didn’t like the color… he threw it out, then contacted his supplier, and a new shipment should be coming in within the next week.

So for that next week I experienced serious PB withdrawal. Yes, there was some single-serving hydrogenated Smuckers involved. I became known as that girl who stops in on occasion just to ask if “the Teddie peanut butter has arrived yet.”

Luckily, friendly chap seemed to be a fellow nut butter addict and understood exactly where I was coming from. Today, finally, finally, it arrived… and it was smooth. After bringing this up, he declared, “Sweetie, we must be the only two people on campus who prefer crunchy. I’ll make sure to order some for you next time.”

He recommended smooth for one thing: an Elvis sandwich (that’s bacon, PB and banana, grilled… duh).

So I just opened the jar. I tasted. I swooned. Thanks to Teddie, this morning has gone ever so smoothly.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 10:20 pm

    Wandered over based on your comment on Jenna’s post today about ‘comfort food’.

    Figure you might ahve other interesting tidbits, so I thought I’d come over, say ‘hi’, and look around.

    ‘Hi.’

    • octopuscarwash permalink*
      October 21, 2010 10:29 pm

      Hi Charles! So glad you stumbled upon the site. Happy wandering! I’ll be sure to check out your blog too.
      Lida

  2. Robert permalink
    October 21, 2010 11:05 pm

    Chunky is my favourite. Is Teddi’s available in Boston?

    • octopuscarwash permalink*
      October 22, 2010 1:45 pm

      Yes! They’re based in massachusetts. you must try.

  3. October 23, 2010 3:24 am

    Mmm peanut butter, so wonderful. Can’t say I’ve sampled too many brands though. When it comes to PB, I’m not hard to please.

    I did try this crazy PB with flax seeds, pumpkin seeds, and some crazy stuff in it today at a café though. It was divine.

Trackbacks

  1. The Octopus’ Lair «

Leave a Reply

