Skip to content

The Beginning of a New Era?

September 2, 2010
tags:

Well, I must say, I am profoundly touched by the number of comments I got when I actually requested comments. On the other hand, they came at a bad time– I have no idea when I will be able to eat anything blogworthy, let alone have a chance to cook.

Just settled into my dorm, and despite my request to have a kitchen, I was put in the one dorm that has no kitchen of its own. To get to the closest kitchen, I have to walk outside carrying my own pots, pans and utensils, not to mention the ingredients. So I think it’s safe to say this will not be an every day occurence.

So I am only armed with:

A very nice minifridge with a top freezer compartment (ice cubes! Yes!)

An electric kettle

Baby silverware in varying degrees of coolness

(Yes, I really did buy this)

Plastic bowls, chopsticks, cups, etc.

Wooden spoon and two kitchen knives (are these considered lethal weapons?)

A rice cooker

Plan of attack: Master the art of rice cooker cuisine, if there is such a thing. More and more rice cooker cookbooks seem to be popping up on shelves nowadays.

Besides, you know what I can make in a rice cooker? Steamed egg custard, or ji dan geng.

I happen to have a recipe for this, since I forced my dad into writing down his entire cooking repertoire for me before leaving for school, but I feel like it would be cheating to post it without having made it yet.

So stay tuned… In the meantime, I will most definitely be eating lots of cereal and overly salty vegetables from the vegan section of the dining hall.

-Octopus Gourmet

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

