Skip to content

Sashimi Surplus

February 4, 2010

When I asked my friend Yoko what to do with the leftover sashimi sitting in my fridge, she didn’t know. And why should she? There’s no point in buying more sashimi than you can eat… you schlep down to Mitsuwa or your Japanese grocery store of choice and purchase a ruby red, partially translucent square of tuna or marbled tuna in tangerine and after slicing thinly at home, argue greedily over who will get the last piece.

Not so when the entire East Asian Languages and Civilizations department of a university has a catered sushi dinner in your apartment. The sushi was supplied by Shinju Sushi, which I review here.

All I can say is well done, Shinju. You really went all out. I don’t even want to think about how an entire ecosystem of fish, crustaceans and mollusks were sitting on my dining room table (as well as chickens and cows for the teriyaki), but all that aside, it was quite a feast. Seaweed salad was topped with orange roe, and styrofoam cups of miso soup were sadly neglected.P1010298

There was so much food leftover that the person who had coordinated all the   food and I frantically packed it into plastic containers and gave away what we could. Of course, the majority of it ended up in my fridge. I vowed to eat up that leftover sushi and sashimi as soon as possible.P1010288P1010291P1010292 P1010295

Day 1 after the party: Brought vegetable maki (some filled with seaweed salad, some with some brown Japanese pickle, avocado, and cucumber), salmon sashimi, smoked mackerel, and yellowtail to school. People are jealous that I am eating non-California roll sushi. I even have a little container of pickled ginger, wasabi and a few soy sauce packets. The fish is perfectly good.

Day 2 after the party: Once again, packed whatever was left. Everything tastes fine, but the rice is beginning to go stale. I wonder how much longer I can eat this fish without catching salmonella.

That night: inspiration strikes! Well, taking the advice of a few different people and websites, I marinated the leftover sashimi (miscellaneous white fish, or the “reject” sashimi that is always last to go… tuna being first and salmon and yellowtail tying for second) in soy sauce, grated ginger, scallions, sesame oil and lemon juice, then fired up the grill. P1010307

That night our house turned into a veritable stir-fry bar. We grilled the leftover calamari, unagi, teriyaki chicken, and sashimi, which we ate with my dad’s broccoli and cauliflower. Grilling the eel was a brilliant idea, since it helped evaporate some of that fatty blanket. P1010306  P1010305

I only wish there had been more sauce for the rice to absorb.

As for the fish, it was a success! I watched it like a hawk, only cooking it for a minute or two at most. Safe to say, though, that this will be a one-time experiment…. when will be the next time I have the opportunity to abuse sashimi-grade fish in such a manner?P1010311 P1010310

There is still a quart of miso soup sitting in my fridge.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aoife permalink
    February 6, 2010 8:13 pm

    So much sushi and sashimi! I’m jealous. Innovative way to use up the leftovers, though. 🙂

  2. March 25, 2010 4:55 am

    The miso soup couldn’t have been used better.

  3. April 9, 2010 3:43 am

    In light of the recent NY Times article on food blogging, I implore you to update. 🙂

Leave a Reply

