Skip to content

My first dorm meal!

July 6, 2009

The kitchen is at the other end of the hallway, so it was a bit chaotic, rushing back and forth with pots and pans. But here was what was on the menu:INTENSIVE RUSSIAN 032  INTENSIVE RUSSIAN 036  

Corn on the cob (What perfectly juicy kernels… no butter or anything else needed besides a dash of salt and a sprinkling of pepper.)INTENSIVE RUSSIAN 033INTENSIVE RUSSIAN 037INTENSIVE RUSSIAN 035

Frittata with fresh green onions, zucchini, summer squash, and heirloom tomatoes (yellow and orange). These ingredients were so fresh that it’s lucky that the only seasonings available were salt, pepper and olive oil. I put the frittata under the broiler for the last few minutes so that it got nice and brown on top.

The verdict: DELICIOUS. I had sauteed the vegetables beforehand, but they were still crunchy. The tomatoes were almost too sweet for the eggs—maybe a little parmesan would have been better—but it was so refreshing to be eating a “homecooked” meal, especially one with such quality produce.

This inspires me to actually buy more stuff at the farmer’s market! I would have bought eggs there had I known I was going to make a frittata…. next time.

And salad on the side, of course. Slightly bitter lettuce also purchased from the farmer’s market.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Aoife permalink
    July 7, 2009 5:05 am

    Oho! I insist on experiencing some of these divine Lida-cooked meals myself sometime. 🙂 I have a kitchen at the end of my dorm too, but hardly have the courage (or resources) to make use of it haha.

  2. July 7, 2009 1:37 pm

    I’ve been eating well in Beijing but the pictures of the farmer’s market and the amazing frittata and salad made me long for fresh simple Western food. We will definitely stock up when I come to pick you up in August! M

  3. leucippe permalink
    July 10, 2009 5:20 am

    what a surprise! took a quick look at your website before turning in and found two wonderful blogs, the recent one showing off the home cooking (and putting the stuff I sent to good use — I’m so happy about that) and the scrumptious photos of the Farmer’s Market with commentary. I’ve told you before that you have a real eye for photography, which you should do more with, and your writing is always so vivid and fresh. a delight to see, a delight to read.

    • April 13, 2011 2:19 am

      BN2RX1 I’m not easily impressed. . . but that’s impressing me! 🙂

  4. Froma Zeitlin permalink
    July 10, 2009 4:26 pm

    what happened to my comment? I did put in my name as Leucippe though. did that matter? help

  5. Aoife permalink
    July 31, 2009 3:58 am

    Lida…your blog is getting very lonely! 😦

Leave a Reply

