Skip to content

Orange: “Contemporary Brunch With a Peel”

May 31, 2009

orange 211

My camera’s been dead, and I’ve just been too lazy to charge it. BUT, today is my 17th birthday! I debated on what I wanted to do, since it’s a Sunday. As it turned out, senior prom was the day before, and I was worried that doing something the day after would be a little too much for my senior friends/ juniors who were invited. Luckily, everything worked out for the better, and I got my wish, which was to have brunch at ORANGE!

I’ve actually wanted to go to Orange since freshman year, when my friend Catriona biked there for Bike The Drive and ordered french toast kabobs. I guess the issue for me is that I’m so much of a breakfast person and I’m so hungry when I wake up that by the time it gets to brunch, I’m already “breakfasted” out. I knew that wasn’t happening this time. I woke up late (well, late for me… 9:30), went for a run, and debated on whether or not I should eat something. Because Orange doesn’t take reservations and they recommended that we go really late, around 2:00, I decided I would be better off with something in my stomach… so I made a melon smoothie and had a Larabar.

We chose to go to the Orange on Roscoe, which is bigger than the original    location on Clark.  orange 177orange 181 

First impression: they really go all out with the “Orange” thing to the point of hokeyness (ie orange chandelier), but I like it! As one of my friends said, “This is like Lida the restaurant.” I don’t really know what that’s supposed to mean, but I hope it’s a good thing!

orange 183

Water + cucumber slice = refreshing

orange 184orange 186

An example of one of the fresh-squeezed juice mixes… pick anything you like!orange 187

Orange-infused coffee. Being a coffee lover, I had to try this. Honestly, the orange flavor was much more apparent when you first smelled it… like orange essential oil or something, but the actual taste of the coffee was pretty mild. orange 193 

Of course, you can’t go to Orange without ordering Frushi! I ordered enough for 11 people. Eating it was pretty disconcerting, considering I had real sushi for lunch yesterday… I guess you have to look at it as something that just happens to take on the shape of sushi… like a sushi imposter. I was a huge fan, actually… the combination of melon and coconut rice and raspberry sauce underneath was wonderful. They replicated the green crunch of cucumber with Granny Smith apples.
orange 196 orange 198

I ordered the French Toast Kabobs, described as “Coconut-infused French toast skewered with fresh strawberries and pineapples, topped with honey and served with coconut-mango salad.”  The mango salad and fruit sauces were perfectly tart, and I loved the charred pineapple. One thing I liked about this dish was that you could get the French Toast both ways: skewered in smaller pieces and therefore crunchier, as well as two giant triangular slabs that were slightly squishy. However, the French Toast itself was a little dry (maybe from the coconut) and not especially flavorful. It was still delicious, though.orange 199

I blame my friends for this picture… they are obviously incapable of taking good pictures. Two of my friends managed to polish off this pancake flight quite easily. I was too scared of the one with Jell-O on top to try it, but I did have a bite of “Fall,” which had sweet potato puree. The pancakes themselves were all your basic buttermilk pancakes… topics involved marshmallows, chocolate, whipped cream… dessert for breakfast.orange 200

I’m not really a fan of eggs Benedict, but this was incredible: the Caprese Eggs Benedict: “English muffins topped with oven-roasted tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, poached eggs and pesto-hollandaise sauce.” For some reason, the acidity of the tomatoes perfectly balanced out the sweetness of a really good egg (and to think I used to hate egg yolks!). And I don’t like hollandaise because I don’t like mayo, but the pesto was a genius touch, as was the mozzarella. If I come back here craving something savory, God forbid, this is what I’ll order.orange 201

Orange Rosemary French Toast: “French toast infused with orange juice then baked until warm and crisp. Topped with a sweet rosemary cream reduction and sliced almonds. Garnished with sprigs of rosemary, marashino cherries and orange slices.” Maybe a little sweet for my taste, but it was actually pretty subtle, with a great aftertaste. Speaking of aftertaste, my friend Jon demanded to know what the word actually means scientifically speaking… Sadly, I didn’t know off the top of my head.orange 202

Omelette 11.5: “Stuffed with chopped bacon, sweet leeks and creamy brie cheese topped with avocado mousse”orange 204

In my opinion, this was the best dish, and I came close to ordering it—Chai Tea French Toast: “Baked, chai tea-infused French toast, stuffed with Ricotta cheese, served over a chai tea latte reduction and topped with honey and caramelized apples.” Sounds way too sweet, right? Well, it’s not any sweeter than your typical Starbucks chai tea latte. What my french toast kabobs lacked was made up for by this incredibly creamy tea foam that soaked into every pore of the french toast. It was so delicious, no words can even describe it. I’m not sure how much of it I could have stomached, had I ordered it, but If I go back, this is what I’ll order. In fact, I wonder if there would be some way to recreate it at home…orange 205

Huevos Rancheros: “Two eggs (any style) served with homemade tortilla chips, bean puree and salsa verde, topped with white cheddar cheese and served with house potatoes.” Henry originally ordered the special of the day, which was a Crab Cakes Benedict, but they were all out 😦 I guess that’s what happens when you come late. He said the Huevos Rancheros were classic, but decent. orange 206

Popeye’s Breakfast: “Scrambled eggs with sauteed spinach, garlic oil and oven-roasted tomatoes, topped with white cheddar cheese.”orange 208

My friend Kayla was the only person who didn’t order breakfast, since she doesn’t like breakfast food (I know… why am I friends with her again?). There was a bit of a misunderstanding when they put bacon in the sandwich (she’s a vegetarian), but this is what she ordered: Grilled cheese with pesto– “Aged white cheddar, mozzarella cheese, caramelized onions, pesto and roasted tomatoes grilled on your choice of bread.”orange 209

Everyone together!

Orange was awesome. J’y reviendrai.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

