Skip to content

The mother is back

December 22, 2008

It’s been great… relaxing, shopping, eating, etc. I know I didn’t blog yesterday, but when I went out to dinner I didn’t bring my camera, so I used my mom’s iPhone, and then we had to transfer the photos… okay I’m blabbering.
Saturday:
THE LAKE WAS COMPLETELY FROZEN! I worked out, looking out the window wishing it were warm enough to run outside 😦
But I did run a fast mile on the treadmill and then did 40 minutes on the elliptical and upper body weights.
Breakfast was a huge bowl of cottage cheese, yogurt, grapenuts, half a banana, blackberries, strawberries, and peanut butter (But I still ended up getting more… I was hungry!)
My mom got back after breakfast. She seemed pretty tired…
For lunch we all scrounged for leftovers. I continued to eat up that tempeh that never seems to go bad… on a wrap with watercress and hummus. Plus carrots and celery with the last of the hummus, and a little bit of the leftovers my parents were eating.

A little later: a big mug of hot chocolate and an apple.

My mom had a haircut a little while later, and while she was at the salon, my dad and I did some shopping… I got some really awesome Adidas boots, as well as some functional stuff: pajama bottoms, gloves, etc.
I was going to cook my mom dinner, but we ended up staying out pretty late… we decided to go celebrate her return at Cuatro, a kind of “new Latin” restaurant in the South Loop.
I actually wasn’t feeling that hungry– I definitely ate lighter than my parents.
To start with, we had two salads:
ensalata de xuxu: broiled, spice-rubbed chayote squash, baby spinach, cucumbers, pear tomatoes, queso frito, and a bitter orange vinaigrette.

ensalata de palmitos: hearts of palm marinated in spicy escabeche, piquin shrimp over arugula and iceberg lettuce, pineapple-honey vinaigrette (aa, where is the photo??).
Main courses– portions were huge! Luckily I ordered relatively lightly… not so with my parents, who were feeling carnivorous.
My dad– 16 OZ PORK CHOP! Of course, he didn’t eat all of it, but that is 4 times hte normal portion… it was roasted with sugar cane, served with plantain mole, green beans, and yuca cake.

I tasted the mole (although later I found out it had chicken stock in it) and apparently it has 27 ingredients!
My mom ordered a short-rib special that was served with avocado salsa and rice… unfortunately, the photo of it has disappeared!
I ordered seafood stew with scallops, shrimp, tilapia, squid and mussels in a tomato-coconut broth with fried plantains and coconut rice. Of course, the broth was incredibly rich… The rice was fragrant and the fried plantains had no taste whatsoever– neither sweet nor salty… more like a baked potato, but in a good way! The squid on the top scared me… turns out it was stuffed! I mainly ate the scallops and tilapia and let my parents eat some of the rest. I really wasn’t as hungry as I normally am, but this was a huge portion!
We ordered one dessert that I had one bite of… really wasn’t in the mood! We had creme brulee (yerba mate-perfumed) with a pineapple confit bottom and cinnamon shortbread cookies. Creme brulee has never been my favorite dessert, but this was delicious… the cookies tasted basically like apple pie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

