Skip to content

3 days worth of blogging

December 7, 2008

THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO BE PUBLISHED YESTERDAY, BUT MY INTERNET DIED.

Hey guys! I AM SO SORRY FOR THE LACK OF POSTING. Today I can say my reason was that I was out literally all day, but I have no excuse for not posting yesterday or the day before. I think part of it has to do with the fact that when you cook more, it’s hard to relive that through writing about it… cooking really is a time commitment, and I’ve been doing it a lot.
So I’ll just do a quick recap of Thurs through Sat
THURSDAY
Breakfast: cottage cheese and yogurt with blueberries, grapenuts, and peanut butter. yum.
Snack: none
Lunch: I also made my friend Kaitlyn lunch! Yes, I did go through with the marshmallow-Nutella banana sandwich. It looked great, but we only had pumpernickel, which was a bit strange, and she didn’t finish it :(. but for dessert I did pack her fancy French chocolates.

i left notes on the lunch objects in French (kind of our thing) and also wrapped the sandwich in gift paper.

some of her friends also made her this outrageously disgusting-looking food coloring cake.

As for me, I had a wrap with tofu, rapini, spinach, and mustard, carrots and celery, leftover cauliflower, and an apple.

Dinner:

I cooked for myself. Yes, this photo makes it look great, but all my cooking times were off 😦
I made eggplant stuffed with brown rice, feta, eggplant cubes, rosemary, etc. over cherry tomatoes and white wine. The problem was that I was only cooking 1 eggplant, and I couldn’t figure out how to cook the eggplant until tender without making the rice stale. In the end, I just ate the eggplant a little underdone. This was actually pretty small, so i had both halves with some pinenuts and a blob of hummus.
Dessert: Greek yogurt with blueberries and Annie’s vanilla chocolate bunnies– i’ve been very good about portion-controlling my cereal!

Workout: I was going to run out side, but do you have ANY IDEA HOW FREEZING IT IS OUTSIDE? It was in the TEENS on Thursday… instead I went to the workout room at my school, but I really wasn’t up for too much cardio. I warmed up with a mile on the treadmill, then did a bunch of weight machines and abs– I was actually really sore the next day! Then I cooled down on the elliptical.

Friday: I was super tired and just not in a work out mood… I was just in the mood to crawl into bed after school, which I get out of at 1:45 on fridays! it was great… I literally lay in my bed watching Gossip Girls that I’d rented until it was time to cook dinner. What a wonderful waste of time.
Breakfast–Oatmeal with buttermilk, blueberries, PB and flax.

Snack– dates and dried apricots
Lunch– tofu, hummus and cucumber sandwich, carrots and celery (really running out of vegetables at this point), an apple, a Zensoy pudding


Snack: no snack, but I did make myself a chai latte with half milk and half water and stevia.

Dinner– I made dinner for my aunt Claire! I realized how empty the fridge was, so I decided to empty it. I made the stuffed pumpkins from the Flexitarian Table that I was originally going to make for Thanksgiving, but I swapped the quinoa for brown rice, given the abundance of brown rice we had in the fridge. It turned out to be pretty good!
I threw out about 3 bags of rotting vegetables while looking for something edible to cook– I stir-fried a mixture of kale and some vegetable related to baby bok choy with some edamame, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, vinegar, and of course, some cornstarch. Then I drizzled it with sesame oil and topped it with sesame seeds.

Dessert: a pear

TODAY WAS SO BUSY!
I got up at 7 and worked out downstairs– I did my usual 35 minute interval set on the elliptical with my biology book… I can’t say I internalized much, but it was useful. After that, I just did some more easy elliptical so I could burn a little more than 400 calories. Before I left I had 1/2 a banana.

Breakfast: no dairy with this breakfast because I knew I was going to Istria for coffee and I wanted to get something nice and milky then. I had 1/2 cup of oats with 1/2 a banana, 1/2 cup oat milk, the last of the blueberries, slivered almonds, and peanut butter.

We headed over to the cafe and I got some good studying done. Of course, I got my usual decaf nonfat mocha… Seriously, delicious.

I had my piano quartet from 11:30-12:30, and then Aunt Claire and I had lunch at Fox and Obel! I really wanted sushi, but given the temperature, I decided against it. I definitely didn’t order enough food, though! I only got half a sandwich with a side salad… somehow I remember the sandwiches being bigger than they were. The sandwich I got was basically a ton of vegetables with hummus on multi-grain. Aunt Claire had a turkey, cranberry and brie sandwich, and I also had a bite of her ginger cookie, which was the most delicious thing I’ve ever had.


Anyways, I had to go back to music for more quartet, theory and duet from 2:00-4:00. I actually forgot my hunger. We went to Whole Foods and now I can say that there is stuff in my fridge and stuff to cook. YAY! We were going to go see Twilight but Claire is kind of sick 😦
We ended up getting stuff at the Whole Foods salad bar, since I’ve always wanted to try it.
Sadly, I WAS DISAPPOINTED! None of the stuff I took had any flavor whatsoever. I had my big salad with some tomato-red pepper soup and some of the stuffing from my pumpkins, and that stuffing blew all the Whole Foods stuff out of the water!
I took: Greens, chickpea salad, shrimp cabbage slaw, tofu that tasted like nothing, sweet potato, beets, artichoke hearts, a bit of peanut noodles, cauliflower and peas, and probably more. The point is that it didn’t taste like much and wasn’t at all satisfying 😦 I didn’t finish it because I was afraid I would get a fiber-stomach ache.
I am definitely having dessert…

I’m not in a bad mood or anything, just really tired and craving something sweet and either a nice book or bad TV show.
I ended up realizing I was HUNGRY, so I had a ton of yogurt and cottage cheese with blueberries and GoLean Crunch.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharon permalink
    December 8, 2008 12:29 am

    Welcome back!

    And everything you had looks oh-so scrumptious! Delicious!!!

  2. originallycliche permalink
    December 8, 2008 2:59 am

    I cannot emphasize how jealous I am of your standard of eating. 😛

  3. Kaitlyn permalink
    April 5, 2009 1:21 am

    that was the best lunch ever.
    and yeah that sandwich was a little bit weird.

Leave a Reply

